The purpose of art psychotherapy
The purpose of art psychotherapy

Date

What is the purpose of life? Do you know what kind of life you want to live and what you need? Sometimes, we may not actually know exactly what we need.

Art psychotherapy is a type of psychotherapy. Can I solve my problems by taking time to meet with the therapist every week, doing some creations, and talking together?

Urban people live a busy life and are already tired from dealing with daily tedious activities. When they rarely have free time, they naturally want to eat, drink and have fun to relax their tense nerves. Some people will choose to go to shopping malls and fill their holidays with various activities, as if they have bought something. I feel good, drink a glass of good wine, eat a sumptuous buffet, check in on social media, relax, satisfy some desires, and all the stress and worries disappear in an instant! It is indeed good to enjoy the fun of life and change things up at the right time; however, I don’t know if you have tried it. Sometimes after being extravagant, you may find that it is followed by a feeling of emptiness?

What is the purpose of life? Do you know what kind of life you want to live and what you need? Sometimes, we may not actually know exactly what we need. Take a shopping spree as an example. There may be other things hidden behind it. It may be some unmet relationship needs, it may be an escape from something, or it may be related to some uncompensated regrets in the past...

When we have unprocessed trauma in childhood or in the past, or some inner needs have not been met, and the true voice has not been expressed or heard, these energies or emotions will appear in different forms in the outside world to maintain inner balance. ; Or when certain feelings related to the past are aroused, there will be some emotional or physical reactions. These different manifestations or behaviors, in addition to crazy shopping, can also be anorexia, repeated patterns of getting along, or falling in love with a certain type of partner repeatedly. These behaviors themselves are not right or wrong, and sometimes they play an important role. Their roles help us achieve inner balance, but if their appearance affects our normal life or development, we may need to explore inward to help ourselves integrate our inner self.

In the process of art psychotherapy, we can use the naked and original characteristics of artistic creation to help us overcome the psychological protection mechanism and present more real feelings. Under the witness of the therapist, we accompany the client to explore the meaning of creation and help the other party to realize The inner feeling gradually unravels. When the clouds clear, you can naturally see a more real side, see yourself and the world with new eyes, and regain the strength to face life.

Therapy is a journey, in which what is explored may be issues that the client already knows but wants to deal with in depth, or it may be inner feelings that have never been noticed and yet to be explored. The therapist will not make any assumptions, but will start from a starting point, explore together with the client, and let you discover on your own.

The creative process or creations can provide the therapist with some clues to help the client understand his or her inner state. It can also directly help the client to have a dialogue with his heart through emotional experience, allowing subtle transformation to occur. The process of creation can be interesting, relaxing, or tearful; in facing the inner time and space, the therapist will carry everything about you, and every attempt may be a way to make yourself better. A strong opportunity for you to see and get in touch with different aspects of yourself.

When the time is right and the heart is ready, sometimes the heart will let you know the answer without words or explicit words.

Want to learn more about art psychotherapy:https://www.happytime.live/art-therapy/

Art Psychotherapist Jasmine Lam
Art Psychotherapist Jasmine Lam

Registered Art Psychotherapist with the British Association of Health and Nursing Professionals
Professional Member of Hong Kong Art Therapist Association
Professional Member of the British Association of Art Therapists
MA in Art Therapy, University of Hertfordshire, UK
The University of Hong Kong BA (Hons) (Double Major in Arts and English)

Jasmine is a registered art therapist of the British Health and Nursing Professional Association. He is qualified for clinical practice in the United Kingdom. He is good at exploring the inner world through artistic creation with clients through a safe, inclusive and accepting space, helping clients to connect with their own hearts. Discover opportunities for change. She is able to make good use of her natural sensitivity to adapt her treatment techniques to the changing needs and needs of her clients during the treatment process.

Jasmine uses humanistic and psychodynamic art therapy as the basis. She once provided one-to-one and group art therapy services at Osmani Primary School, a primary school located in an ethnic minority area in London, England, to help children deal with emotions, behavior, Issues such as sexual assault and low self-confidence; art therapy services have also been introduced in the psychiatric ward of Hertfordshire Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust (HPFT), a mental health hospital of the British National Health Service (NHS), to provide one-to-one therapy and art therapy groups For hospitalized elderly patients diagnosed with depression, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, personality disorders, anxiety disorders, alcoholism and delirium.

After returning to Hong Kong, Jasmine provided one-on-one, therapy group services and art therapy education for children, adolescents, parents, and elderly in kindergartens, primary and secondary schools, universities, and social welfare organizations. Lecturer, has cooperated with parents, teachers, social workers, psychiatrists, nurses, occupational therapists, physical therapists and other professionals to provide comprehensive mental health counseling services for individual cases in the process of art therapy. She is particularly interested in dealing with domestic violence, emotional abuse, depression, dementia and palliative care for the elderly, and accompanies service users in their artistic creation journey and inner dialogue, helping them to find a comfortable place for themselves when facing various difficulties in life 's own space.

More
articles

藝術心理治療的目的
藝術心理治療的目的

Date

生命的目的為何?你知道自己想過怎樣的人生,需要什麼嗎?有時候,我們其實未必清楚知道自己需要什麼。

藝術心理治療是心理治療的一種,每星期抽時間跟治療師面見,做一些創作,一起談談話,就能夠把我的問題解決嗎?

都市人生活忙,應付日常繁瑣已經很累,難得有空閒時間,自然想好好吃喝玩樂一番放鬆繃緊的神經;有人會選擇逛商場,以各式各樣的活動填滿假期,仿佛買到心頭好、喝了一杯好酒、吃過一頓豐盛的自助餐、在社交媒體上打打卡,放鬆一下,滿足了一些慾望,一切壓力煩惱都頃刻消失了!適時享受生活樂趣,調劑一下確實不錯;只是,不知道大家有沒有試過,有時放肆過後,或會發現隨之而來的卻是一種空虛的感覺?

生命的目的為何?你知道自己想過怎樣的人生,需要什麼嗎?有時候,我們其實未必清楚知道自己需要什麼。以瘋狂購物為例,其背後可能還隱藏著其他,這可能是一些關係上的需要未被滿足,可能是對某東西的一種逃避,也可能跟過去一些未被彌補的遺憾有關……

當我們的童年或過去曾經有未處理好的創傷,或者一些內在的需要未被滿足,真實的聲音未曾表達或被聽見,這些能量或情緒會在外界以不同的形式呈現,以保持內在的平衡;或者某一些跟過去關連的感覺被激發的時候,會出現一些情緒或身體反應。這些不同的表現形式或行為,除了瘋狂購物外,也可以是厭食,可以是重覆的相處模式,可以是重覆愛上某類型伴侶,這些行為本身沒有對與錯,有時更擔當著一個重要的角色幫助我們達到內在平衡,但如果它們的出現影響了我們的正常生活或發展,便可能有需要往內探索一下,幫助自己整合內在。

在藝術心理治療的過程,我們能夠使用藝術創作赤裸原始的特質,幫助我們跨越心理防護機制,將較真實的感受呈現出來,在治療師的見證下,陪伴當事人一起探索創作的意義,幫助對方覺察內在的感覺,再逐步抽絲剝繭。當雲霧散開了,自然能夠看見更真實的一面,以新的眼睛看待自己和世界,重獲力量面對人生。

治療是一個旅程,當中探索的,可能是當事人心中早已清楚但想深入處理的問題,也可以是從未覺察到、尚待發掘的內在感覺。治療師不會有所預設,由一個起點開始,與當事人一起共同探索,讓你自己去發現。

創作過程或創作品可以為治療師提供一些線索,幫助當事人了解自己的內在狀態,也可以透過情感體會,直接幫助當事人與內心對話,讓轉化微妙發生。創作的過程可以是有趣的,可以讓人放鬆,也可以讓人流淚;在這個面對內在的時空,治療師會盛載著你的一切,每一次嘗試,或者都是一個讓自己變得更強壯的機會,讓你去看見和接觸不同面向的自己。

當時間對了,心準備好了,有時候不需言語,不用明言,心都會讓你知道答案。

想了解更多藝術心理治療:https://www.happytime.live/art-therapy/

藝術心理治療師 Jasmine Lam
藝術心理治療師 Jasmine Lam

英國健康及護理專業協會註冊藝術心理治療師
香港藝術治療師協會專業會員
英國藝術治療師協會專業會員
英國赫特福德大學藝術治療碩士
香港大學文學士(榮譽)(雙主修藝術及英語)

Jasmine為英國健康及護理專業協會的註冊藝術治療師,具英國臨床執業資格,善於透過安全、包容及具接納性的空間,與個案共同從藝術創作探索內在世界,幫助個案與自己的內心連結,發掘轉變的契機。她能夠善用天生敏感的特質,因應個案於治療過程出現的改變和需要而調整治療技巧。

Jasmine以人本和心理動力學為藝術治療的基礎,曾於英國倫敦一間位於少數族裔聚居地的小學Osmani Primary School提供一對一及小組形式的藝術治療服務,幫助兒童處理情緒、行為、性侵及自信心低落等問題;亦曾於英國國民醫療服務(NHS)一間精神健康醫院Hertfordshire Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust (HPFT) 的精神病房引入藝術治療服務,提供一對一治療及藝術治療小組予確診抑鬱症、躁鬱症、思覺失調、人格障礙、焦慮症、酗酒及譫妄症的住院長者。

Jasmine回港後於幼稚園、中小學、大學、社福機構為兒童、青少年、家長、長者等提供一對一、治療小組服務及藝術治療教育,曾獲邀擔任香港浸會大學社會工作學系客席講師,先後與家長、老師、社工、精神科醫生、護士、職業治療師、物理治療師等專業人士等合作,在藝術治療的過程為個案提供整全心理健康諮詢服務。她特別有志於處理家庭暴力、情感虐待、抑鬱症、長者認知障礙症及紓緩治療,陪伴服務使用者在藝術創作的旅程與內心對話,幫助他們面對人生種種難題時,為自己尋找一個舒適的自處空間。

More
articles