Calligraphy Art-Cultivating Sentiment and Taste Life

Happytime is honored to invite the award-winning famous advertising director and art creator Paul WONG, to be the coach for "Creative Calligraphy Course". In this course, Paul will teach how to cultivate moral character, sentiment, and taste life through the art of calligraphy. 

Creative Calligraphy Course

student

  • People who love calligraphy art (the coach will adjust course content to best suit students' standard, and those who have not received calligraphy art training are suitable for this course)

Introduction

  • Before the Tang Dynasty, people called the art of calligraphy called calligraphy. Later, because the people of the Tang Dynasty admired the law and emphasized the law to facilitate the standardization and dissemination of characters, it was renamed calligraphy. Therefore, calligraphy has always been interpreted as the technique of writing, and even post-scholars blindly focus on copying and seeking the law, which is close to the ancients, and even loves the so-called arty of improvisation. The Chinese civilization, which has a history of more than 3,000 years, is reduced to street art performances. Unhealthy style! In fact, calligraphy has a broader meaning than calligraphy. It does not simply emphasize writing techniques, but also includes artistic creations such as self-cultivation, health preservation, and enlightenment.

  • Today, with the writingtooland the widespread use of computers, the practicability of calligraphy has gradually faded, and calligraphy has become purely artistic creation. Many calligraphers in China, Hong Kong, Taiwan and other places advocate calligraphy again, thinking that the meaning of calligraphy includes not only writing techniques, but also self-cultivation, keeping good health and creativity.

  • Before the calligrapher swishes the ink, he must brew some feelings, adjust his thoughts, and get rid of distracting thoughts. After he is calm and relaxed, he can start writing. Over time, they have developed a calm and calm temperament that is not rushed, not impatient, and calm. Through self-cultivation, systematic learning and training, the book writers can realize the creation of Taoism, which can cultivate sentiment, taste life, and gain.It is an art that entertains others first and then entertains others! Calligraphers must respect the tradition, but also need to break from the tradition, break the old and establish the new, and keep pace with the times, so that calligraphy can be passed on from generation to generation!

Course Content 

  • Lecture 1: About Calligraphy 
  • Lecture 2-3: Appreciation of Chinese calligraphy in different eras, from Oracle to contemporary calligraphy selection 
  • Lecture 4-5: The relationship between the aesthetic perspective of Chinese calligraphy and Chinese Confucianism and society 
  • Lecture 6: Four treasures of study - introduction to Paper, Pen, Ink and Inkstone 
  • Lecture 7: Using pen and ink 
  • Lecture 8: Talking about the unique line art of Chinese painting and calligraphy 
  • Lecture 9-10: Understanding Tradition and creating new tradition 
  • Lecture 11: Similarities and Differences between Chinese Art and Western Art

features 

  • Set up a WhatsApp Learning Group to answer questions for students
  • Provide video review after class
  • Students to upload their homework after class for coach offering advice and guidance
  • Upon course completion, students will be able to create their own calligraphy work and make them as memorable souvenirs

Maximum number of students

  • 10 people

Class date and time

  • Every Saturday 10:30am – 11:45am
  • Recurring class, you can join the class

Creative Calligraphy Course

$ 300 /1 lesson
  • On-the-spot guidance
  • Students after-class practice and creation
  • 1 x 75-minute ZOOM class + revisiting the video after class
  • WhatsApp group

Creative Calligraphy Course

2,000 $ 1,400 /5 lessons
  • On-the-spot guidance
  • Students after-class practice and creation
  • 5 x 75 minutes ZOOM class + revisiting the video after class
  • WhatsApp group

Paul Wong's Calligraphy Art Works

Samples of souvenirs

Paul Wong's Creative Philosophy

Hong Kong is an inclusive place.

In ancient and modern times, people of all kinds, rich and poor, noble and inferior, can coexist peacefully and even sparkle, making Hong Kong more colorful.

I grow in a society embracing tolerance. I enjoy everything that exists in Hong Kong.

I studied Chinese painting and calligraphy at early 1970s, . I found after thousands of years of traditional cultural shackles, knowledge has become an obstacle to creation.

So I stopped painting and devoted myself to advertising creation. Being a director and making commercials have tempered my handling of Western aesthetics and an attitude of seeking change, but it cannot satisfy my creative desire. After all, the creative process of advertising inevitably depends on others' faces.

Modern art, Dada, Pope, etc. helped me open up the barriers to my thoughts and regain my freedom.

I no longer pretend to be an ancient person, chasing after a feeling that does not belong to my own age.

Nor will I forcefully make dresses and plant some flowers that are not suitable for my soil.

I write about what I see and hear every day, removing the word “tradition” from my mind. There is no tradition or anti-tradition. Thousands of years of changes in painting methods have enriched my color palette, expanded my space, and looked forward to it. The colorful city, the city's literature and art, the coexistence of elegance and vulgarity, make the subject matter ubiquitous.

Whenever I open the white paper, I breathe the breath of freedom, like the first day God created the world, let me walk freely, wandering between the poles of society, traveling through the trends of the past and the present, going to the poor and falling down to his end. So much fun.

After all, it is tolerance. Just like Hong Kong.

100% local creation.

Paul Wong's Resume

PAUL WONG, advertising director, graduated from Hong Kong Freshman Academy of Fine Arts. In painting and calligraphy, he was taught by Ms. Lu Shoukun and Ms. Zhai Shiyao. He was a graphic designer, advertising art director and creative director of 4A International Advertising Company. PAUL is also the first Chinese in Hong Kong to be appointed 4A International Advertising Agency'sInformThe company's administrative creative director.

Paul became anadvertising director, because of his deep background in art and advertising. Paul has a strong visual sense and his work has a cinematic feel. He excels in expressing the original script's creativity and meeting the needs of the customer market. PAUL handles different scenes such as different scripts, human nature, emotions, comedy, nature, high-tech, tradition, magnificence, etc., and they all play just right.

Over the past 27 yearsPaul's filming footprints are all over the world. With his background in advertising creation and his personal skills (based on photography and art), PAUL was selected as the best rookie director of the year by the Cannes Advertising Festival in France in 1992, and received nearly 80 international awards in Hong Kong and overseas. PAUL has also served as a judge for international advertising awards in Hong Kong 4A Award, Singapore Creative Circle Award, and New York Astrid & Questar Awards. 

Paul insists on high-quality beliefs, strict production requirements and continuous innovation and breakthroughs in ideas. He was appointed as the dedicated creative director and film director of Budweiser Beer for 12 consecutive years.The Budweiser Ant created by Paul has become a family heirloom advertisement Icon, and has also become a rare longevity brand image advertisement in China, making Budweiser's leading market position unbreakable.

Paul traveled almost all over the world to shootadvertising, photography, visiting art galleries and museums, let him understand the art and culture of different parts of the world. This experience has enriched his vision and enhanced his creative space.

His works are like cocktails that mix traditional Chinese art, Western art, design and advertisements. There is no tradition at all for him. The times are constantly changing, and the definition of tradition is the same. Simply focusing on tradition or non-tradition will only impose restrictions on creation. In order to make the creation more extensive, PAUL uses different creative concepts, such as: Dadaism, pop art, various calligraphy fonts, etc. In addition to breaking the boundaries of times and cultures, he also broke the boundaries of art itself. Not only can calligraphy include different fonts (even fonts other than mainstream calligraphy), the composition of the fonts and the colors formed by the intensity of the ink also make the work become drawing and graphic design.

The themes in the works may be regarded as anti-traditional or even vulgar. However, PAUL only creates according to the time and space he is in, rather than forcefully making the works out of the modern world. For an artist, creation is a kind of self-entertainment and an expression of feelings, just like the spirit of ancient Chinese literati painting: the intention is not to depict objects, but to express love to poetry and painting.

As an amateur artist, Paul has always maintained himself and independent in his creation, and his advertising work has also added creativity and interest to his works.

Paul Wong participated in the following Art exhibitions :

1973 year : The Chinese University of Hong Kong Chinese Culture Festival Art Exhibition

1975 year : Hong Kong Contemporary Art Biennale

1975 Year: Chinese Art Exhibition, University of Waterloo, Canada

1977 year : Hong Kong Contemporary Art Biennale

1977 year : Exhibition of Three People in Communication Gallery

1983 year : Hong Kong Asian Arts Festival Contemporary Art Biennale

1985 year : Hong Kong Asian Arts Festival Contemporary Art Biennale

1996 year : Hong Kong Yiya Thatched Cottage Painting and Calligraphy Exhibition

2005 year : Huang Shengcong Ink and Graffiti Exhibition

2008 year : Canadian "Calligraphy Book" Diversified Chinese Calligraphy Exhibition 

2013 year : Calligraphy and Ink Exhibition of Two Artists at Yong Ting Xu Gallery, Galerie Koo, Hong Kong

Media Coverage

The designer embarks on the road of advertising directors Interview with Hong Kong's famous advertising film director Paul Wong

2018-06-26

書法藝術 - 陶冶情操 品味人生

小確幸時光榮幸邀請獲獎無數的著名廣告導演及藝術創作家黃聖聰 PAUL WONG,「書道藝術創作課程」教大家通過書法藝術修身養性,陶冶,品味人生,更讓喜歡藝術、美術、書法以至中國文化的朋友,創作屬於您們自已的藝術作品。 

書道藝術創作課程

學員對象

  • 熱愛書法藝術人士(導師因材施教,沒有接受書法藝術訓練人士皆適合此課程)

課程簡介

  • 唐代以前,人們稱書法藝術為書道,後因唐人尚法,為強調法度以利於文字規範和傳播,所以改稱書法。因此,書法一直被解讀為書寫的技法,以至後學者一味著眼於臨摹求法,直逼古人,甚至熱愛即席揮毫的所謂附庸風雅, 將有3千多年歷史的中國文明,貶為街頭賣藝式表演的歪風! 其實,書道的涵義較書法更為寬泛,它不單純強調書寫的技法,也包括修身、養生、悟道等方面的藝術創作行為。

  • 今天,隨著書寫工具以及電腦的廣泛利用,書法的實用性逐漸淡化,書法變成是純藝術創作,於是中港台等地很多書者,又再提倡書道,認為書道的意思不僅包括書寫的技法,也包括修身、養生、悟道及創作言志等方面的含義。

  • 在書法家揮毫潑墨之前,都先要醞釀一番感情,調理一番思緒,排除雜念,待氣定神閒之後,方可落筆。久而久之,就養成了不急不躁、沉穩淡定的氣質,書者通過修身養性,系統學習和訓練,進而悟道創作, 既可陶冶情操,品味人生,又可得到完全屬於自已的藝術創作,是一門先娛已,後娛人的藝術!書法家既要尊重傳統,亦需從傳統中脫胎, 破舊立新,與時代並進,書道才可以代代相傳!

課程大網 

  • 1 講 : 書道與書法 
  • 2-3 講 : 中國不同年代書法欣賞, 由甲骨文至當代書法精選簡介 
  • 4-5 講 : 中國書法的審美角度與中國儒家思想及社會的關係 
  • 6 講 : 文房四寶 – 紙、 筆、墨、硯簡介 
  • 7 講 : 用筆及用墨 
  • 8 講 : 淺談書畫同源之中國獨特的線條藝術 
  • 9-10 講 : 認識傳統與創傅統 
  • 11 講 : 中國藝術與西方藝術之異同

課程特色 

  • 導師於課餘時間設立WhatsApp群組,為學員解答疑問
  • 課堂後提供視像重溫
  • 學員課後上載功課,導師給予意見及指導
  • 課程完結後,學員可創作自己的書道創作,製成紀念品

學員人數上限

  • 10人

上課日期及時間

  • 逢星期六 10:30am – 11:45am
  • 循環式上課,可以插班

書道藝術創作課程

$ 300 /1堂
  • 導師即場講解及指導
  • 學員課後練習及創作
  • 1 x 75分鐘 ZOOM 課堂 + 課堂後視像重溫
  • WhatsApp群組解答疑問

書道藝術創作課程

2,000 $ 1,400 /5堂
  • 導師即場講解及指導
  • 學員課後練習及創作
  • 5 x 75分鐘 ZOOM 課堂 + 課堂後視像重溫
  • WhatsApp群組解答疑問

黃聖聰 書道藝術作品

學員創作製成紀念品之樣本

黃聖聰 創作概念

香港,是一個包容的地方。

古今中外,各色人種,貧富尊卑,都可以和平共存,甚至擦出火花,令香港更多姿多采。

我在這個包容的社會成長。我享受香港存在的一切。

70年代開始,我研習國畫,書法, 練就一手筆墨功架,但同時亦背負了幾千年的傳統文化枷鎖,知識變成創作的障礙。

於是,我停止作畫,專心投入廣告創作。 當導演,拍廣告,鍛鍊了我對西方美學的處理,及求變的態度,但不能滿足我的創作慾,畢竟廣告創作過程,難免要看人家的嘴臉。

現代藝術,達達,普普等幫我打開思想障礙,令我重獲自由。

我不再裝成古人,追摹一個不屬於自己年代的情懷。

亦不會強作洋裝,栽種一些不適合自己土壤的花朵。

我寫我日常所見所聞,把傳統二字從腦海中剔除,無傳統,亦無反傳統,幾千年的畫法變化,卻豐富了我的調色板,擴闊了我的空間,放眼五光十色的城市,市井文藝,雅俗共存,令題材俯拾皆是。

每當我張開白紙,就呼吸到自由的氣息,好像上帝創造天地的第一日,任我縱橫,游走於社會兩極,穿梭於古今潮流,上窮碧落下黃泉。 過癮。

說到底,是包容。 像香港一樣。

百分百本地創作。

黃聖聰  個人簡歷

黃聖聰 (PAUL WONG) 廣告導演, 畢業於香港大一美術學院,書畫方面,師承呂壽琨老師及翟仕堯老師,曾任平面設計師、廣告美術主任及 4A 國際廣告公司創作總監。PAUL 亦是香港首位華人獲委任 4A 國際廣公司行政創作總監。

Paul 於1990年轉為廣告導演, 因為具有深厚的美術及廣告創作背景, Paul 有特強視覺感,作品有電影感之餘,  卻能特出原劇本的創意及切合客户市場的訴求。 PAUL 處理不同的劇本、人性、感情、喜劇、大自然、高科技、傳統、宏偉等不同場面,  都發揮得恰到好處。

過去27年Paul 的拍攝足跡遍佈世界各地。 憑著廣告創作背境及個人技術 (攝影及美術基礎) 造詣, PAUL 除於1992年獲法國康城廣告節選為年度最佳新秀導演外,在香港及海外更獲頒發接近80多個國際獎項。PAUL 亦曾任香港 4A Award, 星加坡 Creative Circle Award,纽約 Astrid & Questar Awards 的國際廣告獎評判。 

Paul 堅持高質素信念, 制作要求嚴謹及意念不斷創新突破。能夠連續12年成為百威啤酒的專用創作總監及導演Paul 創作的百威螞蟻,  成為家傳户嘵的廣告 Icon, 亦成為中國罕有的長壽品牌形象廣告,令百威的領導市場地位牢不可破。

Paul 幾乎走遍世界各地拍攝廣告,攝影,參觀美術館和博物館,令他了解世界不同地方的藝術和文化。這方面的經驗豐富了他的遠見及增強了他的創意空間。

他的作品猶如混合了中國傳統藝術、西方藝術及設計,與廣告槪念的雞尾酒。對他來說根本沒有傳統這個槪念。時代不斷改變,傳統的定義也一樣,單單著眼於傳統或非傳統只會對創作設了限制。為了令創作更廣濶,PAUL 運用了不同創作概念,例如:達達主義、普普藝術、各式各樣的書法字體等。除了打破時代和文化的界限,他亦打破了藝術本身的界限,書法中不但可以包含不同的字體 ( 甚至有主流書法以外的字體 ),字體的構圖和墨色濃淡所形成的色彩,也令作品成為圖畫和平面設計。

作品中的主題可能被視為反傳統甚至粗俗,然而 PAUL 只是按屬於他所處的時空、興之所致地創作,而非强作古雅令作品脫離現今世界。對藝術家來說,創作是一種自娛,也是情懷的表達,就如中國古代文人畫的精神:意不在描繪物件,而是寄情詩畫。

作為業餘藝術家,黃聖聰在創作中一直保持自我和獨立,廣告的工作亦為他的作品加添創意和趣味。

黃聖聰曾參加之藝術展覽 :

1973 : 香港中文大學中國文化節藝術展

1975 : 香港當代藝術雙年展

1975 年 : 加拿大滑鐵盧大學中國藝術展

1977 : 香港當代藝術雙年展

1977 : 傳達畫廊金木水火土三人展

1983 : 香港亞洲藝術節當代藝術雙年展

1985 : 香港亞洲藝術節當代藝術雙年展

1996 : 香港頤雅草堂書畫展

2005 : 黃聖聰水墨塗鴉展

2008 : 加拿大 “書法書” 中國書法多元展 

2013 : 香港 Galerie Koo 雍廷序畫廊 2人書法水墨展

媒體報道

由設計師踏上廣告導演之路 專訪香港著名廣告導演黃聖聰 <香港印藝學會>

2018-06-26

Follow 小確幸時光 Happytime