Three good habits to boost your self-confidence
Three good habits to boost your self-confidence

Date

I am a second-year student at a British university, majoring in marketing, and I will graduate and join the society in one year. People like me who are about to finish their academic career can't help but feel lost and don't know what to do in the future. Here I would like to share the three suggestions from the author about habits in Habits Grow Rich.

No matter what stage of life we are in, we all have goals and want to change ourselves for the better. But have you ever tried to get hot for three minutes whenever you make up your mind to study or work, and then you want to give up after a period of persistence, or have you been hesitant, and you don’t know where to start? I am a second-year student at a British university, majoring in marketing, and I will graduate and join the society in one year. People like me who are about to finish their academic career can't help but feel lost and don't know what to do in the future. Here I would like to share the three suggestions from the author about habits in Habits Grow Rich. According to a Duke University study in the Journal of Psychological Science, 40% activities in daily life are habit-derived. Over hundreds of years of evolution, neurons in the brain repeatedly talk to each other to reduce the body's energy expenditure, forming habits over time. In other words, nearly half of the day is subconscious behavior. If there are more good habits than bad habits, life will be good and we will be happy, and vice versa. Therefore, I hope that by sharing the methods of cultivating habits, I can help you gradually build up your self-confidence and find a suitable direction for you in the future.

1. Define your dreams

If you don't even know your dreams, you can't realize your dreams. So, we need to set a dream, and the whole process is actually very simple, there are only two steps:
Step 1: Set a blueprint for your ideal life. Think about it, what constitutes a perfect life as you define it? The income you want to earn, the environment you live in, your life with your partner, the wealth you accumulate, etc. The details of each dream are described in as much detail as possible.
Step 2: Establish the goals you need to achieve your dreams. When you have a list of clear dreams, establish specific goals for each dream, i.e., the action steps that must be taken to achieve each dream. For example, for now, my dream is to successfully graduate with First class honors in college, then the daily goal is that for the next six months, I will force myself to concentrate on studying for three hours a day; the monthly goal is to A grade point average of 70% or above in the essay. Writing down all our dreams and short-term goals on a sticky note helps us force ourselves to take responsibility, remind ourselves that everything is on track, and have a clear reason to fight.

2. Ask an experienced tutor

Asking parents, supervisors, teachers is the fastest path to success, mentors teach us what to do and what not to do, and share valuable lessons learned through adversity. Taking myself as an example, it is difficult for them to provide professional advice because there are no elders around me who are engaged in the marketing industry. If you are ready to join this industry, you can also learn about related websites in your spare time. Happytime The course is more clear about the specific work of marketing. Book an appointment with an experienced digital marketing professor to learn about the main job content of digital marketing. Enrolling in the course can better familiarize yourself with the actual operation of the industry. Of course, you can also take action yourself and keep challenging yourself to learn what works, but you will pay for the time and money to learn. By contrast, finding a successful mentor and learning from their mistakes is the easiest way.

3. Write down your feelings and worries every day

Have you ever thought that procrastination is actually related to self-confidence? Whenever we procrastinate, one of the main factors is that we don't believe in our own abilities. For people who are accustomed to procrastination, because they do not know how much time and energy they actually need to spend to complete the work, they hesitate to act, and every moment of hesitation will only reduce the time to deal with the work, and it is really too late in the end. Going to complete it will lower your evaluation of yourself, and it will form a vicious circle over and over again. To break this cycle of low self-confidence, we need to communicate within ourselves. Spend about 15 minutes a day thinking about what you have to worry about, and when you have to do it, list it as a daily goal and remind yourself every day to beat that pesky procrastination.

Once, I was used to procrastinating and escaping both in my studies and in life. When I was in my first year of college, when the semester was about to end, I remembered that I had to stay up all night to prepare a bunch of exams and reports, and I had to start paying attention to my internship work. With so many things to deal with, you get frustrated and don't want to deal with it. You might be thinking, "Isn't there a big problem with procrastinating?" Absolutely. To others, procrastination reduces our credibility with family, friends, co-workers, bosses, etc. It also reduces the quality of work, and long-term procrastination labels us untrustworthy and incompetent; for ourselves, procrastinating on things we don’t want to do but must do creates feelings of fear and pain, plus we procrastinate The resulting consequences will make us tremble all day long, think negatively for a long time, but do nothing. So, after failing again and again, and often letting myself and others down, I couldn't stand the powerlessness and fear, and I decided to use some methods to help myself take action. In the beginning, as described in the book, feel your inner voice first, and you will gradually become aware of every source of stress in yourself, which is what worries you, and then write down a to-do list (this can be the long-term goals mentioned above or daily tasks), which makes your heart try to take action instead of procrastinating.

I understand that it takes time to get used to, but as long as I develop the mentality to act now, I can slowly overcome my fear, because my inner unease will be replaced by a sense of success, and I will feel that I can gradually control my life. As long as you have the first success, you can accumulate a little confidence and gradually become a confident person.

About the Author
Hugo Wong University sophomore majoring in marketing


hugo wong

"One Mosquito Party", have you heard of it? In the early Hong Kong machine shops, when a player put down $1 on the table, it indicated that he was in line, waiting to play the game until the game was over, or he wanted to challenge the player who was playing. With this belief, I challenge myself to take action on my dreams, build confidence and control my life little by little through successful experiences. During the past two years, I have tried different jobs, such as participating in the production of online short films, including editing and screenwriting. In the future, intend to develop in the industry of marketing or media public relations. Contact: Instagram: chaiyumnam Gmail: wongkwok0000@gmail.com

More
articles

提升自信心的三個好習慣
提升自信心的三個好習慣

Date

我是英國大學的二年級生,主修 marketing,還有一年就畢業投身社會。像我這種快結束學業生涯的人,不免會感到迷惘,不知日後有什麼打算。在這裏我想分享《習慣致富》中,作者提出有關習慣的三個建議。

無論在人生什麼階段,我們都會有目標,想要去改變自己令生活變得更好。但你有試過每當下定決心去學習或者工作時,總是三分鐘熱度,堅持一段時間後便想放棄,或者一直猶豫,遲遲不知從何開始嗎?我是英國大學的二年級生,主修 marketing,還有一年就畢業投身社會。像我這種快結束學業生涯的人,不免會感到迷惘,不知日後有什麼打算。在這裏我想分享《習慣致富》中,作者提出有關習慣的三個建議。根據《心理科學期刊》中,杜克大學(Duke University)的研究指出在日常生活中,有40%的活動是源自於習慣。經過數百年的進化,大腦中的神經元彼此重複交談以減少身體的能量消耗,長時間便會形成習慣。換言之,每天有接近一半的時間是下意識行為。如果好習慣多於壞習慣,生活會很美好,我們也會感到快樂,反之亦然。所以,我希望透過分享關於培養習慣的方式,能夠幫助大家逐漸建立自信,在未來找到適合自己的方向。

1. 定義自己的夢想

連自己的夢想都不清楚,就不可能實現夢想。所以,我們需要設定夢想,而其實整個過程非常簡單,只有兩個步驟:
第一步:設定理想生活藍圖。思考一下,你所定義的完美生活由什麼構成?你想賺取的收入、居住的環境、與伴侶的生活、累積的財富等。每一個夢想的細節都盡可能地詳細描述。
第二步:建立實現夢想所需的目標。當你列出了清晰的夢想時,針對每個夢想建立具體的目標,亦即是為了實現每一個夢想而必須採取的行動步驟。例如,目前而言,我的夢想是順利於大學 First class honors 畢業,那麼每日目標,就是接下來的六個月,我將會強迫自己每日專心學習三小時;每月目標,就是在總成績的論文中取得70%或以上的平均分。將所有夢想及短期目標寫在便條紙上,這樣有助我們強迫自己付起責任,提醒自己,一切已上軌道,這樣便擁有清晰的奮鬥理由。

2. 向有經驗的導師請教

請教父母、上司、教師是追求成功的最快途徑,導師會教我們做什麼和不做什麼,分享逆境中磨練學到的寶貴教訓。以我自己為例,由於身邊沒有長輩從事marketing行業,所以他們難以提供專業意見。如果準備投身此行業的人,也可以在空閒時了解一下相關的網站,我透過 小確幸時光 的課程更清楚marketing的具體工作。預約後即可與富有經驗的數碼營銷教授了解關於數位營銷的主要工作內容。報讀課程更能熟悉行業的實際運作。當然,你亦可以親自採取行動,不斷挑戰自己去學習什麼行得通,但是你會賠償時間和金錢去學習。相比之下,找一位成功導師,從他們的錯誤中學習是最簡單的方法。

3. 每天寫下自己的心情和擔憂

你可曾想過,拖延其實與自信心有關嗎?每當我們拖延,其中主要的因素之一,是我們不相信自己的能力。對於習慣拖延的人來說,因為不清楚自己實際上需要花多少時間和精力去完成工作,所以遲遲不敢去行動,而每一刻的猶豫只會減少處理工作的時間,到最後真的來不及去把它完成,令自己對自身的評價降低,周而復始而形成惡性循環。要打破這導致自信心低落的循環,我們需要與自己的內心溝通。每日花大約15分鐘,思考自己究竟有什麼擔心的事情,當這件事不得不做,就將它列在每日目標上,每天提醒自己,要戰勝那討厭的拖延。

曾經,我在學業和生活上都習慣拖延和逃避。在大學一年級,學期快完結時,想起要熬夜準備一堆考試和報告,又要開始留意實習工作,同時要面對女朋友(現在變成了前度)鬧分手等危急情況,每次想到這麼多事情要處理,就會感到很沮喪和不想面對。你可能會想:「拖延一下沒有太大問題吧?」絕對有問題。對他人而言,拖延會降低我們在家人、朋友、同事、上司等心目中的可信度。另外也會降低工作品質,長期拖延將我們貼上不可信任和能力低的標籤;對自己而言,一直拖延我們不想做但必須做的事情,就會產生恐懼和痛苦的感覺,加上我們拖延而引發的後果點會令我們終日膽戰心驚,長期思想負面,卻又無能為力。因此,經歷一次又一次的失敗,又常常令自己和他人失望後,我再忍受不了這種無力和恐懼感,然後我決定使用一些方法幫助自己採取行動。一開始,正如書中描述,先感受自己內心的聲音,你會慢慢清楚自己每一個壓力來源,即是令你擔心的事情,然後寫下待辦事項的清單(可以是上述的長期目標或日常任務),這會讓你的內心嘗試採取行動而非拖延。

我明白這需要時間適應,但只要培養出立刻行動的心態後,就能慢慢克服恐懼感,因為內心的不安會被成功感代替,同時覺得自己能夠逐漸控制生活。只要有第一次的成功,就能累積一點信心,漸漸地變成一個有自信的人。

作者簡介
Hugo Wong 大學二年級生 主修marketing


hugo wong

「一蚊黨」,你有聽過嗎?早期的香港機舖,當玩家在桌上放下$1時,這示意他在排隊,等着把遊戲玩到破關,或者想挑戰正在玩的玩家。我也抱持着這份信念,挑戰自己對夢想採取行動,透過成功的經驗一點點地累積自信和控制自己的生活。這兩年期間我嘗試過不同的工作,例如參與網絡短片製作,工作內容包括剪片及編劇。未來打算在市場營銷或媒體公關的行業發展。

聯絡方式:
Instagram:chaiyumnam
Gmail:wongkwok0000@gmail.com

More
articles